epicureanpnw

Just another WordPress.com site

Famous Dave’s BBQ

This week was my first week in my new neighborhood in Silverdale.   I decided to try Famous Dave’s BBQ for the first time.  On a quick break from work, I spotted a burger on their on line menu that looked promising.

Upon entering the restaurant, it had a definite feel of southern BBQ joint – very down home like.  I was asked if I’d been there before and responded “no”.  Although I was prepared with what I wanted to order having seen the menu ahead of time, the waitress did offer a sampling of sauces so I could sample for future visits and possible try on my fries or burger if desired.  I was quite glad she did this.  Being a fan of BBQ, it was a pleasure to be able to try the sauces in advance of a future visit.

I ordered a plain burger which was cooked perfectly – a bit large for my appetite, but prepared well and with an added mustard sauce provided, quite satisfying.  Fries were potato wedges and quite good as well.  I had ordered “a few” onion tanglers but ended up with a large bowl.  Good at first, but some had little or no flavor so became dissatisfying.  When prepared well, these are a favorite of mine and I was a little disappointed.

Other than the onions, I was very pleased with my lunch.  Portion sizes are abundant so one must be prepared for that.  For those with a smaller appetite like mine, sharing a meal may be a good plan but for this type of venue, it almost is expected I think.

I would definitely return to try something else “with sauce”.

http://www.famousdaves.com


 

 

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

